A voice from above…

“I’m Done!”

“What Lord?”

“Aunt Dani! I’m done.”

Maybe not from above, but still very pressing, at least to the three year old waiting for my assistance in the bathroom.  As moms (and day care providers) it seems like we are constantly moving about and our minds constantly whirring, trying to plan meals, naps, play time, learning time, nurturing time, and…butt wiping time. That one comes way to often.  I don’t know how my mom did half the things she did with 5 kids underfoot. Me, I think I’m doing good to get us all through the day with the same number of people at the end of the day. “One, two, three, four…four kids. Yes! Made it!”  My mom was Mom-extraordinaire with cooking, cleaning, gardening, sewing, cross stitching, homeschooling, and so much more. Why didn’t I learn that from my mom?

I was the kid who just hoped that I’d get there one day, finding myself Mom-extraordinaire, with everything under control. Let me tell you, that doesn’t work. You actually have to do the work. I see so much of myself in our oldest daughter. She would rather dream the grandiose than go through the sweat and tears to make it to grandiose. Now my struggle is “How do I teach her to be a doer as well as a dreamer”?   I’m really hoping the answer comes to me like a voice from above because I don’t know. I think I just have to keep plugging along, trying to show her what to do, like my Mom did.

Maybe my mom didn’t feel like she had it all together the first 7 years of marriage and child-rearing and that came to her later. I’ll have to ask.

*Note to self, call Mom later to ask about early years of child-rearing and how to get it all together.

p.s., She’ll probably tell me to buy more Rubbermaid tubs for storing and sorting, so get some more of those.

p.p.s, Get to work, you can’t get anything done sitting down.

Okay. So, it sounds like Mom wants me to keep moving, or that’s at least what I think she would tell me if I called her so I’m going to go back to those dirty dishes and teach them who is boss, tame that dirty clothes right into it’s closets and drawers, and just maybe have some time for fun with my munchkins, plus 2.  (That’s six today. Six kids to keep track of. Right. Where is…)

It’s time for me to take advantage of nap time to get some serious dishes done, and to show my kids through action, how to be successful at this Mom-thing.

May the force be with me.

Leave a Reply

