Sometimes, I don’t want to be Mom.

How does it go? “The children are all snuggled down in their bed…” Yeah. Well, now they are. But before that was screaming, yelling, kicking, and, yes, moments of sweetness. But some days I get to the full point, to the breaking point where I find myself not wanting to be mom anymore, at least not tonight. After the tenth time of telling one kid not to spit, and {real quote} “You are not the big, bad wolf, so stop blowing on everyone!” Yes, that’s right, he’s not the big, bad wolf, but you couldn’t tell from the amount of time he spends blowing on everyone, cheeks puffed out, fish lips in full force as he blows, rather moistly on one or the other sibling or friend.

And the screaming. “He touched me.” “He blew on me!” “Mooooommmmm!!!!”

“I’m sorry, but there is no one here by that name.”

Sigh. Alas, they are sleeping, the house is quiet, and dark, and I think I can come back at it tomorrow with more energy and spunk. Today I was told (in Wal-Mart) by a random passer-by-er that “You have the patience of job” while I wheeled that enormous cart packed with 4 squealing kids and one trailing behind complaining that she had to walk. Later on, again, I was complimented on how calmly I handled all of the kids (or own 4, plus 4). Then, much later on, at a birthday party, when I could no longer quietly watch all the children be loud, I realized that I was the party pooper, the pooper of the party.

So, there you have it. I’m the not-so-sainted, patient-as-Job, party pooper.

No one really tells you how hard parenting is. And, honestly, looking back, I would have probably thought those people just didn’t know what they were doing. “Hey, if you would do it like this……..it would work great.” That mentality doesn’t take into account how different (and difficult) some kids are, nor does it account for the failings of the parents, because, let’s face it, we all have failings, and those failings get in the way of great parenting. Here! HereJ! for so-so parenting. Here! Here!

After a long day (starting at 5) of hard parenting, I’m ready for a rest, hopefully by myself (hubby is already asleep and I don’t want to wake him, so I’ll sleep on the couch). I’m ready to rejuvenate. Also, I would like to encourage anyone else out there who is tired from a long day of parenting, to go get some rest and know that you are not alone in your struggles. Some days are just hard. Tomorrow is a new day, full of opportunity. Most likely there will be some screaming, and kicking, and fighting, but there will also be some sweet moments that help you get through, and remind you why you chose this path.

Good night and happy parenting!

Leave a Reply

